Kansas Workers' Compensation Updates
Rate Change and Legislative Updates

 

Kansas Benefit Rate Publication Retroactive

 

 The State has revised the Maximum Weekly

 

Compensation Rate for Weekly Benefits.

 

The updated rate is $631

 

 

These rates are retroactive for the time period of

 

July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018.

 

 

 

What Does This Mean?

 

This is the result of a recalculation at the state level. Please update your current matters by amending the rate (and payment status) for past and future TTD and ultimately PPD if any.

 

MVP Can Help

 

Do you have questions on how to proceed? Contact your MVP attorneys, and they can assist you in making sure your calculations are compliant with the change.

 

Kansas Legislative Changes

 

The Kansas Legislature passed House Bill 2184.

 

The law changes the burial allowances from $5,000.00 to $10,000.00. It also increases the Death Benefits initial lump sum payment from $40,000 to $60,000. The Non Dependent death cap goes from $18,500 to $100,000. The age of dependency becomes 19 or May 30th of their senior year of high school, which ever comes first. The legal fee cap for a conservator increases from $1,000 to $2,500.

 

These changes are effective upon publication, which is expected to occur around July 1, 2018.

 

It was approved by the Governor on Thursday, April 12, 2018.

 

Registration is open for the

 

2018 MVP Law Seminars!

 

Kansas City

August 23rd

St. Louis

September 13th

Des Moines

September 27th

 

 

 

Do you have additional questions? Do not hesitate to call us!

 

Kansas City - 913.371.3838

 

St. Louis - 314.621.1133

 

Springfield - 417.865.0007

 

Omaha - 402.408.1340

 

Tulsa - 918.771.4465

 

www.mvplaw.com